My Craft Supplies Addiction

I have a confession. My name is Janelle, and I have a craft supplies addiction. I need an intervention–stat.

Why? I ask myself (after I get home).

I am in the process of sewing squares into strips that will make my “Winter Birds” quilt. I love this fabric and have had this quilt on my mind for at least a year. Why, then, can’t I just enjoy the process? Why did I need to go in search of new projects today? I bought 4 patterns (on sale, of course), 4 yards of fabric and felt remnants (at a craft store going out of business), and brought home a many new ideas for future craftiness (that I didn’t need). I want to make quilts, bags, dolls and doll clothes, clothing and costumes. So many ideas swirling around in my head. But to finish a project takes an act of willpower–I want to start on the new thing, pick out new fabric. It’s an illness. An addiction.

I need to quit my job.

About Janelle McGuire

My imaginary friends love me
This entry was posted in diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Craft Supplies Addiction

  1. Imogen says:

    Its such a relief to see I’m not the only one that does this. Picking out new projects is so much more interesting than finishing off old ones. I’ve got cupboards of half finished clothes, paintings, knitted toys, but manage to convince myself that buying ‘just one more’ bit of fabric or yarn won’t hurt.
    Perhaps there is a group of people out there that like finishing stuff off that we could sell our projects to……………….

Leave a Reply

